Hello there!

So I’m still getting the hang of this, and haven’t posted my menu for a few weeks, uh oh!  It’s Thursday night, and I’m just relaxing after working til 7pm tonight.  Thankfully I made great use of my slowcooker, and a warm meal was waiting for me when I got home.  Hubby-to-be is working nights, so it’s been me on my own this week for suppers.  The motivation to make good meals is still there, cause I pack them up for him to take to work the next day!  Let’s take a look back at what I’ve enjoyed eating this week.

Sunday – Roast beef, baked sweet potatoes and brussel sprouts

The roast was coated in a rub that was a combination of 2 tbsp ground coriander seed, 1 tbsp pepper, 2 tsp kosher salt & 5 crushed garlic cloves.  Was very nice!

Monday – Cooking Light’s Balsamic Chicken with Roasted Tomatoes, Mushroom and Zucchini Orzo

I forgot to save the cherry tomatoes I had purchased, and so we ate them as a snack this weekend… so I made the chicken without the lovely roasted tomatoes 😦  It was still a nice meal, but would have been better with the tomatoes.

Tuesday – I was shopping late and so my plans to make a chicken curry got pushed back.  Instead I was so hungry that I caved and bought some food court thai food that was not very good.  When I got home, I put together some left-over spaghetti sauce (mom’s secret recipe-which I’ll share later) and noodles for hubby-to-be to take to work the next day.

Wednesday – It’s bootcamp night!  So dinner is quicker on these nights.  Tonight was: pork scaloppini, cobs of corn, roasted acorn squash and a side of whole wheat pasta with parmesan cheese.

To make the acorn squash, I cut it in half, put it cut side down in a baking dish, filled 1 inch high with water, in the microwave for 17 minutes.   After that, I flipped them over and put margarine and brown sugar in the centre and roasted in the oven for another 5 minutes.

Thursday –  Cooking Light’s Slow-cooker Chicken Paprikash

Was lovely to come home late from work, and have dinner ready.  Mine was a tad liquidy, even when I added some cornstarch mixed with water, to help it thicken.  I may suggest cutting the chicken broth in half.  Maybe it’s my ancient slowcooker that’s the problem.  Hopefully we’ll be getting a new one soon! 😉

Friday – leftovers…sadly I’m alone still and I’ve got lots to get done so leftovers it is!  I saved some of Thursday nights dinner for myself.  I’ve got next week’s groceries and other errand to run, since we’re attending a wedding out of town this weekend.  See you Sunday, when I let you know what’s for dinner next week!

