Happy Thanksgiving Canada!

Yum turkey and a lovely fall day.  What a wonderful time of year.   This is my second Thanksgiving dinner that  I’ve ever prepared, and it’s a lot of fun!  Thank goodness I’m only cooking for 4 though – less pressure.  We are having our small dinner first, and the big family at the future in-laws dinner is the next.  It’s potluck style, so I’m only responsible for one dish (I’m making roasted root vegetables in honey with pecans).

The night before our meal I made our dessert, as it had to cool and set in the fridge.  Triple Chocolate Pumpkin Pie!  I’ve never used canned pumpkin before, wow does it smell good!  Mixed with melted chocolate, it smells even better!

For Thanksgiving dinner, the roasted turkey is seasoned with sage and thyme.  The sides are going to be mashed potatoes, simple stuffing, honey-glazed carrots, broccoflower, and mom’s red cabbage.  It’s very important to me that we have lots of veggie options at these types of meals!  I think I accomplished that.  If you’re wondering what’s mom’s red cabbage, here’s the recipe.  It’s a tradition at our house.

MOM’S RED CABBAGE

Ingredients: 1 med head red cabbage shredded, 1 med chopped onion, 2 sliced granny smith apples, 3 tbsp butter, 1 tbsp caraway seeds, 1 cup red wines, salt & pepper, 2 tbsp sugar, pinch cloves, cornstarch mixed with water to thicken.

In large pot, met butter.  Add onions and cook 3-5 minutes.  Add red cabbage to almost fill pot.  Stir to cover with butter mixture.  Add red wine, stir.  Let alcohol burn off, 5 minutes.

Sprinkle sugar on top of cabbage.  Add salt and pepper, caraway seeds, cloves.  Cover cabbage halfway with water.  lay apple slices on top of cabbage.

Cover and simmer on low for 2-3 hours.  Add more water if needed.  Before serving, thicken with cornstarch water.

Hopefully you all had wonderful holiday weekends!  Happy Thanksgiving & Happy Eating!

