How was the weekend?  Did you get some spring planting or gardening done?  All of the rain today in Southwestern Ontario will really get things growing.   I’ve got some potted herbs on my deck that seem to be loving it!

This coming weekend is a long weekend!  Wahoo!  I will have the weekend off cooking, so the menu this week is a tad shorter.  What are your plans this weekend?   We’re supposed to go golfing, and I haven’t been out at all this year – I anticipate lots of lost golf balls.

Here’s what I’m cooking this week:

Sunday – We had Pork Parmesan, with steamed broccoli and whole wheat pasta with diced tomatoes on top.  It was a nice change from chicken parmesan!   One of my lovely co-workers gave me some garden fresh rhubarb on Friday and I have been waiting all weekend to put it to use!  The hubby and I aren’t huge dessert eaters, but I knew a rhubarb crisp was what we needed.   I also considered making Two Peas and their Pod’s Rhubarb Apple bread but I didn’t have applesauce on hand, and didn’t want to make a separate trip out.  The crisp was so delicious!  A nice spring treat for Sunday night.  I halved the recipe, since we’re just 2 people.

From Everyday Food: Great Food Fast cookbook

2 pounds rhubarb
1 1/2 c. sugar
3/4 c. flour
1/2 c. (1 stick) unsalted butter, chilled, cut into pieces
1 c. rolled oats
1/2 tsp. ground cinnamon
ice cream for serving (optional)

1. Preheat the oven to 400. Slice the rhubarb stalks on the diagonal into uniform 3/4 inch-thick pieces. Place in a 9×13 inch baking dish; toss with 1 cup of the sugar and 1/4 cup of the flour.

2. In a food processor, pulse the remaining 1/2 cup of flour with the butter until the clumps are pea-size. Add the remaining 1/2 cup sugar, the rolled oats, and cinnamon; pulse just to combine. Sprinkle over the rhubarb.

3. Bake until the rhubarb is tender and the topping is golden, 35 minutes. Serve warm with ice cream, if desired.

 

Monday – One of my husband’s favorite dishes is stir-fry. This Cashew chicken is very yummy.  I don’t have sherry in my pantry, so I use white wine instead.

Tuesday – After Easter I bought a ham on mega-sale; so if you’re cooking along with me this meal may be a bit out of the norm for ya.  Like I said in a previous post, I love ham but we had turkey instead at Easter and so I am very excited for this meal.  The leftovers will be great for sandwiches!  We will be eating baked ham, with sauteed local asparagus, and salt n’ vinegar potatoes.

WednesdayAsian cabbage slaw with honey-teriyaki chicken.  The first time I made this meal it was for dear friends while I was living in Toronto.   Cabbage slaw is such a nice change from regular salads.  We’ll be using green cabbage but if you can find Savoy cabbage at your local grocery store use that instead – it has great texture.

ThursdayLinguine with turkey sausage and peppers.  I will be making a few substitutions to this one.  We always use whole wheat pasta, and so I will be using whole wheat fettucine noodles instead of white linguine noodles.  Lean pork sausage will be used instead of the turkey sausage and we will have an arugula salad on the side to fulfill our vegetable needs. Yum!

 

 

 

 

 

 

Did you try and of the recipes from last week?  How did they turn out?

Have a delicious week!

