What a lovely week of weather we will be having!!  I finally got around to potting some plants this weekend for our deck – I love when we get some floral colour on our deck. Makes it feel so much more like summer.  And Roy is adjusting to life with his new family!  Yesterday he got to meet adorable baby Desmond.  He was tuckered out last night!  Today he discovered running with his ball on the deck is a blast!

Sorry I didn’t post the menu yesterday!  Was a crazy weekend for us.  We did enjoy a lovely meal last night!

Sunday –  Herbed orzo salad, pickled cucumber salad, grilled salmon paprika (found through Foodily! see previous post)

Grilled Salmon Paprika
1 ½ pound salmon fillet, cut into (6) 4 ounce pieces (leave skin on)
¼ cup agave nectar
1 tablespoon smoked paprika
½ teaspoon ground cumin
1 teaspoon sea salt

  1. Rinse salmon, pat dry and place in an 11 x 7 baking dish
  2. In a small bowl, combine paprika, cumin and salt
  3. Drizzle agave over salmon, the sprinkle with paprika mixture
  4. Marinate for 30 minutes to 5 hours
  5. Grill salmon (skin side down) for 4-5 minutes, then turn over
  6. Grill on other side for 3 minutes, or until salmon is cooked through
MondayCreamy pesto chicken with roasted tomatoes.  With a side of ww (whole wheat) pasta with pesto.  This is a recipe that mum shared with me.  It’s sooo yummy.  Can’t wait!!
Tuesday – We’re going out for dinner (again!!)  because it’s my bday!  Even though I love to cook, it’s still a treat to not have to cook and do dishes on my bday.
Wednesday – Cooking Light’s Curried Chicken Salad in Naan.  Whole wheat naan is a better choice than white.  Also naan bread is pretty dense so don’t think of it as equal to regular bread in terms of calories.  Hubby wasn’t too keen on curried foods before I started making this, however this dish has changed him!  Maybe it will change you too?
ThursdayCherry tomato salad, and panini sandwiches with grilled asparagus, proscuitto and mozzarella.  I always forget about my panini press that’s tucked away in my pantry!  I’ve vowed to try and use it more.  Who says you can’t have a panini for supper?
FridaySouthwestern Corn and Black Bean Pizza!   I ❤ black beans!  So delicious and rich in fibre!  Most Canadians don’t get near enough fibre in their diet – you need about 25-30g a day.  Use whole wheat dough for this one to help you get closer to target.
Do you want to follow my blog?  Add me to your Google Reader, or subscribe to RSS feeds (the little orange icon at the bottom of the page!)
Happy Cooking!
PS. Here’s a smile for the day, our lovely Roy.
