Hello! I hope you all are doing great out there!

Did you make any of the meals from last week? I loved the curried chicken salad in whole wheat naan so much, that it wasn’t until midway through it that I realized I had forgotten to snap a picture of it to add to last week’s post!

I also have an embarrassing cooking fiasco to share with you all. Last Friday I made the Southwest Corn and Black Bean Pizza as planned. And everything was going as expected – it looked beautiful & smelled amazing while baking in the oven… but we got a major letdown when it was time to eat it. See, we tried to get a head start on the yard duties for the weekend, so we didn’t eat until the sun went down on Friday. By that time I was starving and tried to get the pizza in the oven asap. I forgot to spray the pizza sheet with non-stick spray!! So by the time our tastebuds were salivating, I realized we weren’t going to be able to pry that thin crust off the sheet! Oh the devastation. We were total scavengers and ate it in chunks off the sheet anyways (it was 9:30pm! what else where we going to do!?) – but note to readers: always remember the Pam!

Ok, enough about our Friday fiasco. Here’s what’s on the menu for this week!

Sunday – We had homemade guacamole, salsa and nachos as an appetizer while enjoying the sunshine on our deck! Supper was the tasty Southeast Asian Grilled Flank Steak Salad from Cooking Light. Yum!

Monday – We are finishing some weekend yard work (sodding the backyard!) so good ole-fashioned burgers and vinegar coleslaw it is.  I feel so guilty!  It’s not homemade!  But time just doesn’t allow it tonight.

Tuesday – I am excited to try this recipe I spotted on the blog 2 Peas and their PodGrilled fajita chicken with pineapple, peppers and baked beans.   It’s officially grilling season and we are loving it!  Can you tell?

Wednesday – Foodland Ontario’s pork and vegetable curry stirfry.  I’m always looking for recipes to use up that yummy curry paste I’ve got in the fridge.  This looks like it’s going to be a quick dish that is a nice take on the traditional stir-fry.   I’ll be using my potted cilantro for this one!  Do you have any fresh herbs growing in your pots or garden?  Such a nice treat!

Thursday – We’ll be having salmon burgers, a napa cabbage slaw salad and…wait for it…. the BEST corn you’ve ever tasted!!  You have got to try this corn recipe.  Everytime I make it, it’s a scene stealer.   Now the trick is, if you don’t live in the USA you have to make your own version of Old Bay Seasoning.  Or else maybe you’re lucky and have found it here in Canada?  I haven’t been successful in finding it.  But thanks to Emeril Lagasse, we’ve got a recipe to make our own.

Friday – We’re having a different take on the traditional grilled chicken salad.  This recipe came across my desk at work, and I am really looking forward to it!  Tandoori-style Grilled Chicken Salad.  And a bonus!  I get to use my cardamom that I bought for holiday baking!  It’s a bit of a pricey spice, and I haven’t found that many uses for it – so I am also excited to pull it out of the cupboard again!

Of the recipes I’ve shared – which have you loved so far?  Any cooking fiascos like mine on Friday?

Happy Cooking!  Till next week….

