How quickly the days seem to pass!  We are super busy right now, with the finishing touches on our new lawn and redesigned gardens, training our sweet little rascal (Roy!) and obviously our jobs!  But healthy, yummy and homemade meals are still a priority for us!

By the way – has anyone been watching Masterchef?  I loved it last summer, and was so impressed with the winner Whitney Miller!  Wow she has skills, and such a young chef!  I can only hope to get to that level someday!  I have been PVR’ing season 2 and then watch while I make supper – seems like my cooking time has been taking a bit longer these days! haha.  I’m distracting by all the interesting and talented chefs.  What are you eating this week?  This is my menu:

Monday – I was really looking forward to making this meal, and it definitely did not dissapoint!  Our Best Bites Mango & Quinoa Salad with Grilled Chicken.  I feel like I’m overdosing (in a good way!) on meals with cilantro and cumin flavours, but they are just so summery to me!  Hope you all don’t mind!!

Tuesday – Martha’s Crustless Broccoli & Cheddar Quiches.  I make this in one large glass pie dish, and it’s very simple!  As long as you can wait the 35-40 min while it bakes in the oven.  Served with a spinach salad and some crusty whole grain bread.  What a nice meatless maindish!

Wednesday – We are going out!  What are you making on Wednesday?

Thursday – Food Network’s Morrocan-style Tilapia with snap peas and basmati rice as sides.  Oops, another meal with mango and cumin.  I think I’m obsessed.  I haven’t made this before, but am looking forward to it!  I find I default to the same type of fish recipes all the time, and this is a new one with exciting flavours.

Update:  We found the fish in this recipe to be pretty bland.  Perhaps I didn’t fry it in enough oil (I generally try to use very little).  Based on our experience, I would not recommend it again!  The mango with the cilantro was delish, but the tilapia needed something more.  Possibly marinating it in lime juice prior to seasoning?

Friday – Everyday Food’s Stir-fried Honey Ginger Chicken Stirfry.  This is a regular for us!  And I love it.  Ginger and honey are an amazing flavour combination.  I used to cut corners and buy the jars of minced ginger – but it’s way better when you grate or mince your own.  Try it!!  I find if you don’t use all the ginger in one recipe (which is most often the case), it keeps for about a week in the fridge for another meal!

Next week s the first official day of summer!  I am on the edge of my seat waiting for the fresh, local Ontario produce to be ready!  What’s your favorite local fruit or veg?  I love field tomatoes, sweet corn, green peas, and blueberries!

