Hello!  Have you been enjoying the fresh produce so far this summer?  I am so thrilled about the abundance of fresh basil I’ve got growing on my deck.  Also (knocking on wood as I type this) my potted plants on my deck seem to be braving this heat wave well!  I’ve been able to keep up with the watering, and so far so good.  How are your beautiful plants and gardens growing?

Here’s what we are eating this week:

MondaySummer tomato, mozzarella and basil panini with balsamic syrup and Everyday Food’s curried zucchini soup, which can be served warm or chilled.  I was surprised at how quickly the balsamic syrup came to be!  I love balsamic reductions and this is a great start to having it more often at home.  This was a very tasty summer meal!  (I’m ashamed of the lack of whole grain-ness of the bun below… sometimes a good panini roll just can’t be found in whole wheat variety! )

Curried Zucchini Soup

  • 1 tablespoon olive oil
  • 1 medium onion, chopped
  • coarse salt
  • 2 garlic cloves, minced
  • 2 teaspoons curry powder (More or less depending on the strength of you powder and how spicy you like your soup)
  • 1 1/2 pounds zucchini (about 3 medium), sliced 1 inch thick
  • 1 baking potato peeled and cut into 1-inch chunks
  • 1/3 cup sliced almonds toasted for garnish

1) Heat the oil in a large saucepan over medium heat. Add the onion and 1 tablespoon salt; cook, stirring occasionally, until the onion is soft, 4 to 5 minutes. Add the garlic and curry powder; cook, stir constantly, until fragrant about 1 minute.

2) Add the zucchini, potato, and 4 cups water. Bring to a boil; reduce the heat, and simmer until the vegetables are tender, 10 to 15 minutes.

3) In batches, puree the soup in a blender (do not fill more than halfway) until smooth or use the immersion blender right in the pot. Serve and garnish with almonds.

TuesdayTuna pasta salad from Canadian Living served on a bed of spinach.  Since I had to work late this night, this dinner was a quick meal I could prepare the night before.

Wednesday – Martha Stewart’s Salmon Burger, served on a whole wheat roll.

ThursdayPeanut-sauced chicken pitas, yum!  Almost like take-out at home!  I poached our chicken before mixing with the remaining ingredients.

Friday – Pork tenderloin with roasted potatoes and green beans.  Just a quick, standard BBQ meal.  Season with your favorite herbs!  I used our fresh garden-grown rosemary (another favorite of mine!).

Happy Cooking!!

