Sometimes I get home from work, and the last thing I feel like doing is making dinner.  I put it off.  I check my e-mail, walk the dog.  And then I resign myself to the fact that I know I have to eat, that making a fresh, healthy dinner is SO much better for us and that it won’t take that long!  And it doesn’t – once I get started. Sometimes all it takes is a plan.  It’s a much more palatable idea to make a nice supper after a long work day, when you know what you’re coming home to make.  It’s that time you spend running to the store, staring at the cupboards, and checking cookbooks or online recipes that make dinner time more frustrating!  So plan your suppers with my help!

Here’s what we are eating this week.

SundayChicken Tenders Parmesan from Everyday Food.  An easy and comforting meal, serve with whole wheat pasta.

MondaySpinach and Proscuitto Lasagna from Everyday Food.  This was a bit more labour intensive, but I knew the efforts would equal amazing leftover lunches for this week!  It says it serves 4, but from my ‘dietitian perspective’ this dish could serve 6-8.

TuesdayLighter General Tso Chicken.  I swear, this stir-fry is just as good as from a restaurant!!  Just make sure to really follow the directions, and put the chicken in the pan half at a time, and then remove before adding the snow peas.

Wednesday –  I originally had plans to be out at dinner tonight, but it fell through.  So instead (since I’m cooking for 1 tonight), I did a simple supper.  I sauteed some diced Ontario tomatoes with olive oil for about 8 minutes, mixed with cooked pasta and pieces of goat’s cheese.  Delicious and simple.

Thursday – No recipe for this night.  My features will be the lovely fall produce!  Seasoned, oven roasted salmon, baked acorn squash, brussel sprouts, roasted potatoes.  Yum!

Have you made any amazing meals lately? Please share!!

Happy Cooking!

