I’ve been attempting to bake more often.  As you know, I cook much more than I bake; but baking is something that I also like to do!   Since nutrition is my thing, we don’t keep too many treats around the house, but over the holidays we do indulge a bit more than usual!  It has been a busy month, but I’ve managed to make the following items:

Simple sugar cookies from Real Simple.  A traditional Christmas treat.  Mine were a tad crispy, and I think it’s because I had to roll them out with quite a bit of flour to prevent sticking… I’ve recently read that some people use powered sugar instead of flour when rolling out cookies.  Maybe I will try that next time.  Do you have any special tricks?

White chocolate and peppermint brownies from Real Simple.  Follow the Double Chocolate brownie recipe and then once cool, melt 6 ounces of white chocolate with 1 tsp of canola oil and spread on top of the brownies.  Sprinkle with 1/3 cup chopped candy canes and let sit before cutting into squares.  Festive and delicious!

Meringues cookies! yum!  Meringues remind me of the holidays!  And they are so light and airy, how could you possibly feel guilty eating one?  These are in the oven as I type, and I can’t include a picture of mine (so a website photo is included in case you don’t know what they are!).  They bake for about 1.5 hours on low and you have to leave them overnight in the oven once it is off.   Meringues are really simple and use only 4 ingredients: egg whites, sugar, cream of tartar and pure vanilla extract.  Try them this holiday season!

Merry Christmas!!

