Ah January.  I’m always a bit sad to see the holiday season go, but on the other hand it’s nice to get back into the routine of regular life.  I’m not really a ‘resolutions’ kind of person; however, did anyone out there make any cooking/healthy eating resolutions?  Maybe to eat more often at home, or plan a few suppers ahead of time each week??  Eating well and organizing are what January means to me!

Hope you can find something you’d like to eat this week, below!  Here’s a glimpse at what we’re eating…

Tortellini with Mushroom Sauce from Everyday Food.

This is fairly simple and quick to prepare, but tastes like a restaurant dish!  My local grocery store didn’t have shiitake mushrooms, and so I used cremini instead.  Serve with a large spinach salad with oil & vinegar dressing.  Delicious!!

The recipe calls for chopped fresh parsley; however in the winter, fresh herbs are expensive and often go to waste.  So I have a secret weapon in my freezer: President’s Choice frozen chopped herbs in an easy to shake box.  So handy and a great timesaver.  Try them this winter!

People often think pasta is unhealthy – but it isn’t.  The problem is not with pasta itself, but the portions of pasta that we eat.  Did you know that 1 cup of cooked pasta is considered an appropriate serving size?  Measure it out, and you’ll be surprised at how this compares to your typical portions.  Balance your smaller pasta portion with more veggies!

Quinoa and Roasted Pepper Chili from Cooking Light.

A vegetarian dish that packs a flavour punch!  It’s really simple to roast your own peppers, and the flavour is well worth the extra effort.  The other must-have ingredient are the fire-roasted diced tomatoes.  Since the Canadian canned version didn’t have chipotle chiles in it, I added a roasted jalapeño pepper for heat and spice.  I was pretty surprised to see ‘roasted diced tomatoes’ in a can, and wonder if this is a new product here in Canada?  I really hope they stick around because they could really add flavour to a lot of dishes.

Although this dish is vegetarian, the beans and the quinoa are a great source of protein!

Salmon with Lemon, Capers and Rosemary from the Food Network.  I will be adding roasted potatoes and acorn squash as sides.   This dish reminds me of the salmon I recently had at my brother’s wedding!  It was wonderful, and so I hope this recipe is as well.

Sesame beef stir-fry from Cooking Light.  Hubby loves stir fry, and we don’t eat enough red meat (rich in iron!) in the winter when we aren’t grilling as often.  The 4 cups of spinach that are added to the stir-fry are also a great source of iron!  🙂

Enjoy!  Happy Cooking!!

