More delicious supper recipes are on the way!   This past week, every recipe we had for supper was a knock out.  Even my hubby agreed.  Yum yum yum.

Although it really hasn’t been a frigid winter (yet) in Ontario, I still love soup for supper.  And this one is amazing.  It’s a refined, more fancy version of chicken noodle soup.  Using orzo, lemon and wilted spinach.  You have got to try the Spinach Lemon Orzo soup that I found on Tasty Kitchen‘s website.  Definitely make sure you buy the fresh, largely grated parmesan for this one.   Add we added poached chicken to make this a more nutritionally-complete supper.  Have you ever poached chicken?  It sounds really strange, but basically you cook chicken breasts in boiling water or broth for about 15 minutes.  I use water and add some dried herbs.  That way I am not adding salt from the broth, and it still produces moist, flavourful chicken.  Give it a try, I swear you won’t regret it!  It’s a great way to easily prepare chicken for salads as well.  Some recipes actually poach the chicken, then drain the water and shred the chicken, place it back in the pot and then cook it in a bit of oil to give it some crispness.  You could try that too!

Next we had Martha Stewart’s Herb crusted Salmon.  This was paired with a spinach salad and roasted baby potatoes.  The dijon mustard and the salmon was a great pairing of flavours that I don’t see too often.  Instead of making my own breadcrumbs as the recipe suggests, I used Panko crumbs.  It is a great time saver.  This meal met my ‘fish once a week’ criteria!  I look for fresh (not farmed) salmon if I can get it.

One of our quicker meals this week involved a roasted whole chicken that I picked up on my way home from work.  We had Chicken and Grape salad from Martha Stewart’s Everyday Food.  Not everyone likes the flavour of blue cheese, but it was wonderful in this salad.  I actually found a tub of blue cheese that was crumbled, and was less expensive compared to the block of cheese!   And another bonus to this recipe is that we had leftover roasted chicken to use for sandwiches for our lunches.

Chicken with Pepperoni-Marinara Sauce with a side of whole wheat pasta in sauce and arugula salad.  This recipe was from Cooking Light and it was in fact very well balanced for calories despite using some pepperoni.  Yes, pepperoni isn’t the leanest, lowest sodium meat out there, but the recipe involves 4 pepperonis per serving.  And the flavour it adds to this meal is irreplaceable.  Another must-have for this recipe is a pan that can go from stove top to oven.  I have a set of pots and pans (thanks to my aunt and uncle!) that can be used in the oven, and that makes them so useful!!  A cast-iron skillet can also be used in this situation.   Try this supper!

Last but not least, we also had Shrimp with Lemon Saffron Rice, again from Cooking Light.  I think I’ve said this before, but saffron is such a unique flavour.  And I have the advantage of getting imported saffron threads from my mom in England which is much less expensive than saffron here in North America.  This recipe involves minute rice for the purpose of a speedier cooking time; however the glycemic index of minute rice puts me off.  Instead I used the quick cooking brown rice, and boiled it in advanced of adding in to the remaining ingredients.  To make the substitution work, I cooked the rice as the package indicates, but removed it from the stove with 5 minutes remaining, so that it could cook the remaining minutes with the rest of the ingredients (as the recipe states).  Do you follow what I’m saying?    Another great dish to add to your supper repertoire.

How have you guys been doing out there with planning your suppers?  Do you plan at least one meal in advanced?  Do you notice that you save time and money?

Happy Cooking!!

