Summer is in full swing!  There are so many wonderful flavours of summer.  Cilantro, lime, cumin.  Basil, mozzarella, proscuitto.  BBQ, corn, zucchini.  I love them all.  The one thing we try to achieve with our summer meals is efficiency.  Although I love to cook, I don’t want to waste away the daylight in the kitchen.  Below are 4 delicious and speedy meals to get you started!

Chicken and prosciutto salad with arugula and asiago from Cooking Light.  We love arugula in our house, it’s a tad more bitter than other greens but adds a unique flavour to a meal.  I substituted fresh parmesan cheese for asiago, since that’s what I had in my fridge.

Pasta with snap peas, basil and spinach from Everyday Food.  Use whole wheat pasta to increase your satiety with this vegetarian meal.  I highly recommend that everyone grows some basil over the summer months.  Fresh, garden-grown basil is amazing and such a convenience!

Our Best Bites Mango Quinoa Salad is wonderful for leftovers and lunches!  I’ve been cooking with quinoa for years now, and I love that it is becoming more commonly used.  Ideally I would have used red pepper to add some more vibrant colours to this supper – but I accidentally cut it up for snacking!  That’s a challenge in our house – since I grocery shop only once a week, sometimes I forget which ingredients need to be saved for which future meal.  So occasionally I need to improvise!

Asian steak kebabs with broccoli slaw from Chew Nibble Nosh is another easy dish!  Buy broccoli slaw from the salad section of your local grocery store.  If you like to cook Asian inspired dishes, chili-garlic sauce and sesame oil are a valuable pantry addition.  You won’t regret it!!

Happy Cooking!  What are you grilling this long weekend??

Enjoy,

-A

